Tim Shadbolt as Invercargill Mayor

(PR.co.nz) Invercargill’s voters have re-elected Tim Shadbolt to serve a sixth term as Mayor, Invercargill City Council Electoral Officer Graham Low announced today. Mr Shadbolt won the Mayoralty with 16,275 votes over Mayoral candidates Suzanne Prentice with 5,311 votes and Carl Heenan with 669 votes.

Mr Shadbolt’s first term as Mayor of Invercargill was 1993-1995. He was re-elected Mayor in 1998-2001, 2001-2004, 2004-2007 and 2007-2010.

Of the 11 existing Councillors standing for election, Councillors Wayne Harpur, Peter Kett and Lindsay Thomas were unsuccessful. The new Councillors are Carolyn Dean, Lloyd Esler, Ian Pottinger and Graham Lewis. This also fills the vacancy left by Cr Geoff Piercy.

Mr Low said he had received 23,085 votes from a total roll of 38,113, which represents a voter return percentage of 60.6% and added: “This is the biggest voter turnout the Invercargill City Council has had for the past three elections if not more.”

These are preliminary results with up to 150 special votes still to be processed. Mr Low said final results were expected to be announced on Wednesday. An election was not required for the Bluff Community Board as the number of nominations equalled the number of vacancies.

Media Release 9 October 2010 from Invercargill City Council.