Online Press Release Service for New Zealand -

Submission, publication, distribution and promotion of New Zealand online press releases.
Submit Your Press Release

2011 Green Ribbon Award finalists

( To mark World Environment Day Environment Minister Nick Smith today announced the 29 finalists for the 2011 Green Ribbon Awards which honour outstanding contributions to protecting New Zealand’s environment.

“Over the 21 years of the Green Ribbon Awards, more than 100 environmental champions have been recognised for their initiative, commitment and dedication to tackling environmental issues”, Dr Smith said.

For the 2011 awards, 203 nominations were received across 12 categories. The categories reflect the broad range of environmental challenges that New Zealand faces and the actions taken to address them. The nominations recognise individuals, businesses, communities and youth as well as larger organisations.

“A number of these nominees demonstrate every day that business and an environmental conscience are not mutually exclusive. For example, some of the finalists have identified a business opportunity that both improves the environment and provides employment for themselves and others. Other groups and individuals show the level of dedication and commitment that exists in communities across the country, working on a voluntary basis to care for our environment”, Dr Smith said.

The winners of each category and an overall supreme winner will be announced during an awards ceremony at Parliament on 9 June.

The finalists are:

  • Pomona Island Charitable Trust (Te Anau)
  • Trees for Canterbury (Christchurch)
  • Tuhoe Putaiao Charitable Trust (Opotiki)
  • Wellington City Council (Wellington)
  • Kaikoura District Council (Kaikoura)
  • Redvale Energy Park (Auckland)
  • NZ Landcare Trust (New Zealand-wide)
  • South Taranaki District Council (Taranaki)
  • Sherry River Catchment Group (Tasman-Nelson)
  • Eco Stock Supplies (Auckland)
  • Conscious Consumers (Wellington, Auckland)
  • Sustainable Coastlines Incorporated (New Zealand-wide)
  • Rosie Doole (Lower Hutt)
  • Island Bay Coast Care (Wellington)
  • Brittany Packer (Nelson)
  • Roseanna Gamlen-Greene (Christchurch)
  • Illminster Intermediate School (Gisborne)
  • Mana Recovery (Porirua)
  • Denise La Grouw (Rotorua)
  • Emma Heke (Nelson)
  • Reel Earth Environmental Film Festival (Palmerston North)
  • CEMIX Limited (New Zealand-wide)
  • Seat Renew Global Ltd (Auckland)
  • Downer (New Zealand-wide)
  • Love NZ (New Zealand-wide)
  • Meridian Energy and the Department of Conservation for Project River Recovery, (Canterbury-Otago)
  • Kapiti Coast District Council, Kapiti
  • Tasman District Council and Nelson City Council for Ecofest (Tasman-Nelson)
  • Nelson City Council (Nelson)

Media Release on 5 June 2011 from Minister for the Environment, Nick Smith.



Questions about the information in this press releases should be forward to the business listed in the media contact section. Writers of press releases are solely responsible for the accuracy of the content.